Basics · Favorite Labels

Pop of peplum

Hi everyone! If you’ve been anxiously awaiting my next post I apologize for the delay 🙂 Schedules, weather, etc. have made shoots a bit challenging this past week, but…I’m back!

DSC_7234Today’s look features one of my favorite skirts in my closet. It’s from Alice + Olivia a few seasons back and I just LOVE the peplum. I think it’s the perfect combination of flirty and fun. Another reason I love this skirt is that you can wear it year-round. Today I paired it with a Theory black tank and pumps (more on those in a bit), but I also wear this skirt on the regular in the winter…paired with a basic long-sleeve top and my trusty Wolford tights.

The peplum is definitely the stand-out feature so I typically keep my top pretty basic. The Theory tank I’m wearing here is such a great basic and it’s form fitting which I like simply because it doesn’t bunch like a cotton tee.

DSC_7249The sparkly necklace (have you noticed I like a little bedazzling?!) is from Forever 21. I always receive compliments when I wear it which always makes me feel nice 🙂 It’s a great statement piece and the best part is that it only cost $10.

DSC_7256Okay, so let’s talk about the pumps. These are my trusty Christian Louboutin’s (or CL’s as I like to call them) that I absolutely love because I can wear them with literally everything I own. You may be saying to yourself, “Those shoes are totally not worth the price.” I’ll admit, I did experience a bit of sticker shock when I first purchased them, but I seriously think they are so worth it. They’ve held up pretty well and they are beyond comfortable. I dare you to guess how many years ago I purchased them…the answer may shock you. I purchased them SIX YEARS AGO! Not sure about you, but I think that’s pretty damn good. I plan on wearing them for many more years to come. I’m more into suede than patent leather these days, but obviously I’ll keep wearing these puppies until the end of time.

DSC_7242Typically, this is an outfit that I’d wear to work (the skirt is a teeny bit too short, but I always say that the cuteness makes it work appropriate 🙂 ). Today, however, I’ve turned it into a going out look and paired it with my Prada wristlet. I love this wristlet because it’s a great size and I love the bow detail…nice and feminine for this girly girl.

DSC_7262I hope you’re as big of a fan of this outfit as I am! Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below 🙂

DSC_7237Have a great weekend!

Emily

Outfit Details:

Skirt: Alice + Olivia

Tank: Theory

Necklace: Forever 21

Pumps: Christian Louboutin

Wristlet: Prada

One thought on “Pop of peplum

Leave a Reply

