Basics · Summer Style

Black + white in Brooklyn

I hope you’re having a great week! As you may have noticed, I changed the scenery a bit for today’s post. We shot these pics in Brooklyn, which made for some pretty fantastic views. This past weekend we had friends in town and spent Saturday in Brooklyn, so I was able to take advantage of the scenery 🙂

As I mentioned in a previous post, I keep my looks pretty casual on the weekend. Because well, it’s hot and shorts and a tee or a simple dress are easy…I’m sure you can relate.

DSC_7306Today, I went with the classic black and white pairing. It’s summer, so white bottoms are a must. I’ve had these rolled-up shorts (they’re from a brand called Dex) for a few years now, and I just love them. They’re a great basic and have held up really well…which is pretty rare for white! I got them from a great local boutique in Huntington Village (LI) called Blue Bird NY. Definitely check it out if you are ever in the area. The tee is from Theory and it’s one of my go-to basics. I like the neckline and it goes great with virtually any bottom…I wear it with skirts all the time.

Since my outfit is pretty basic, I can have some fun with the jewels. Today I’m wearing a colorful gem from Kate Spade NY. I’ve doubled the chain, but you could also wear it as one long piece. I love all the colors and it really helps jazz up the outfit.

DSC_7315Keeping with the black and white theme are my shoes, which are making their debut today on the blog. These are my amazing Chanel ballet flats. I bought them easily five years ago and it was one of the best purchases I ever made. They are the ultimate classic and go with absolutely everything. Pants, skirts, dresses, shorts…you name it. I think they are super flattering on the foot, and they instantly dress up an outfit. I’m typically pretty careful with these babies (I obviously plan on wearing them forever) and I try and take really good care of them. I can totally walk the city streets in them since they’re really comfortable, but I try not to log too many miles in them to avoid scuffs, etc. I promise you’ll be seeing them in many future posts 🙂

DSC_7327

DSC_7319

The crossbody bag is another one of my favorites. It’s from Gucci and is my go-to weekend bag. Some people would probably avoid pairing black and navy, but I don’t subscribe to any of these rules. In fact, I actually love how black and navy look together. This bag is great for a night out, and it totally works for daytime too. It’s big enough to fit my wallet, sunglasses, etc., which is a win in my book 🙂

DSC_7323

The hat you’ll probably recognize…it’s my trusty summer hat. For today’s look I borrowed my BF’s Ray-Ban wayfarers…I’ve become quite fond of them…hopefully he won’t mind 😉

DSC_7354

Enjoy the rest of your week!

-Emily

DSC_7358

Outfit Details:

Tee: Theory (I linked to a similar version)

Shorts: Dex

Flats: Chanel

Necklace: Kate Spade NY

Sunglasses: Ray-Ban

Bag: Gucci (Interested?! Certain colors are on sale at Saks…check out the link)

Hat: Wallaroo Hats 

2 thoughts on “Black + white in Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

