Summer Style

Homeward bound

Welcome back! I hope your week is off to a fantastic start. This past weekend I went home [to LI] for the first time in a VERY long time. Let’s just say this visit was wayyyy overdue. It sounds silly, but there truly is no place like home. My mom and I had some quality girl time and I got to go to some of my favorite places…including NY Panini in Huntington Village. They seriously have the best salads…ever.

I wore the outfit photographed here one of the days I was home. How great is this scenery?! We shot in a local park…can’t get enough of the greenery!

DSC_7424This outfit is perfect for summer because it is so comfortable. The dress is actually a cover up, but since I never go to the beach (did my casper-like hue give it away?) I wear it like it was made to be a dress. I’ve worn the dress/cover up on its own, but I also love pairing it with a denim vest. This one here is from J. Crew. If you don’t own a denim vest I highly recommend purchasing one. It’s such a versatile piece and I wear mine all four seasons.

DSC_7441The bag you’ll probably recognize…it’s my trusty Gucci crossbody. It’s the only bag I brought home for the weekend (for me this is quite an improvement…I don’t travel light) and it worked out great. The shoes you’ll recognize as well…they are my Sam Edelman sandals that I’ve featured in the past. I don’t always find sandals to be the most comfortable, but these are certainly an exception.

DSC_7439If you know me well, you’ll probably recognize the hat. It’s from Eric Javits and I literally used to wear it every weekend during the summer. It’s actually my mom’s hat, and I always received so many compliments when I wore it, so I never wanted to give it back 😉 But, this summer I decided it was time to part with it (plus I have a new favorite hat) and figured I could borrow it for the weekend. Isn’t it great?! I love the colors and I think it’s super stylish.

DSC_7457

DSC_7459-EditI got some new arm candy over the weekend, so I wanted to show it off in today’s post. The beaded bracelet with the purple and green beads is the newest addition. I love the colors and I think it goes well with everything. Plus, I love the way it looks stacked with my other bracelet. My mom got it for me (ok she actually got both of them for me) from her friend Roberta, who owns a great vintage costume jewelry store called The Magnificent Obsession. A lot of pieces I feature (including my bangles) have come from there.

DSC_7455I’ve had this multicolored ring forever, but it’s been at home so I honestly forgot about it. I think it’s so fun and I plan on wearing it pretty regularly from now on. If I’ve learned one thing this weekend, it’s that shopping in your own closet is tons of fun 🙂

You can probably tell from the picture that I actually have manicured nails! I used to get my nails done regularly (it’s the little things that make me happy) but I don’t go very often any more. Seeing my nails painted makes me want to rethink that decision. Whenever I go home I always look forward to a manicure from Danielle at Nail Nook. We’ve known her forever, and she seriously gives the best manicures (and pedicures). I honestly don’t even know what color this is…but it’s from Zoya which is a nail polish brand I love. I typically go for light colors, but I do switch to darker hues now and then.

I hope you enjoyed today’s look. If you like what you see don’t be shy and leave a comment below!

-Emily

DSC_7462-EditOutfit Details:

Vest: J.Crew

Sandals: Sam Edelman

Hat: Eric Javits 

Bracelets: MbM

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

