Basics · Summer Style

Dog days of summer

DSC_7549Greetings! I hope you’re having a great week so far. Not sure about your neck of the woods, but here in NYC it’s been HOT HOT HOT. It’s August, so the heat is nothing new. But these past few days have been on another level. To say I’m looking forward to fall is an understatement 😉

The outfit I’m wearing today is perfect for these hot and sticky days. The dress is cotton and super comfy. What’s even better, I can throw it right in the wash after being outside all day, which is a major win. I got the dress years and years ago but since it’s a pretty classic style, it doesn’t show its age. It’s from a French brand called Petit Bateau.

DSC_7569I love the simplicity of the dress. Today I jazzed it up with a beaded necklace (more on that below). I’ve also been known to wear the dress with my trusty jean vest. It’s a versatile dress that will likely be a staple in my summer wardrobe for many more years to come.

Let’s go back to the necklace. Isn’t is fun?! It’s from Ann Taylor Loft and I purchased it this past spring. I love wearing navy, so I snatched this necklace up as soon as I saw it. The baubles are the perfect statement piece to wear with anything navy.

DSC_7564I wore this outfit over the weekend and since it was so hot, we spent a lot of time at the movies. Though who am I kidding..we like to go to the movies regardless of the weather 🙂 When we go to the movies we like to bring our own snacks, which means I need to bring a bag large enough to hide all of our goodies. Enter this purple crossbody bag. It’s from Longchamp and shocker…it’s my mom’s. I typically use it on vacation (it was the perfect bag for our Europe trip this spring) but I’ve been using it on the weekends lately. It’s bigger than my other crossbody bag and it has multiple pockets which is always nice 🙂 Since it’s nylon it’s pretty durable which is a major plus.

DSC_7555I’m hoping in the next few weeks I’ll be able to wear jeans again on the weekend. But until then, I’ll be sticking to outfits like this one.

Stay cool!

-Emily

DSC_7574

Outfit Details:

Dress (Petit Bateau…old but similar here and here) // Sandals (Sam Edelman…these are very similar and are on sale) // Necklace (Ann Taylor Loft…no longer available but I like this layered beaded necklace too) // Bag (Longchamp)

Leave a Reply

