Basics · Favorite Labels · Summer Style

Old stomping grounds

Happy Saturday! Hope your weekend is off to a great start. Isn’t it hard to believe that the summer is almost over? Not sure where the time went. The only good thing is that cooler weather is around the corner…or should I say cornerish. As you can probably tell by my recent outfits, I’m kind of over the whole summer thing.

I feel like today’s outfit is a happy medium…

DSC_7722I love this top (it’s from Madewell) because it’s a fun twist on the classic white button down. It’s got some great detail at the bottom and I can see myself wearing it well into the fall.

Whenever I’m wearing a collared top, I love to have fun with the jewels. Today I paired the top with this Madewell piece. I got it before our trip to Europe this spring and it’s been a great addition. I feel like it immediately makes a top pop (yay for rhymes!)

DSC_7713The skinny jeans are from a brand called Mother, and I absolutely love them. They are so comfortable and they hit me perfectly at the ankle. Not the easiest thing for a short gal like me. It’s my first pair of Mother jeans and I see myself purchasing more in the future. If you are in the market for a new pair, I highly recommend them!

The shoes (or driving shoes as they are technically called) give the outfit a bit more of a summer feel. They are from Tod’s and I’ve easily had them for 5+ years. It’s like walking around in bedroom slippers…need I say more?!

If you are familiar with Tod’s you may know that their shoes are on the pricy side, but these were totally worth it. They’ve held up pretty well (since they’re suede I only wear them on sunny days!) and the style hasn’t changed so I’ll continue to wear them for many years to come.

DSC_7718I haven’t featured this Chanel bag in a while, so I figured today was a good day to break it out…instantly dresses up the outfit 😉 Plus, we went to Laduree for brunch, so I needed to wear something French 🙂

DSC_7699You may be curious about the title of this post. These photos were taken in a courtyard of an NYU building…my alma mater. I don’t make it to the Washington Square Park area very often, but every time I do I get so nostalgic. It’s so beautiful and there is always so much going on…I absolutely love the energy. We actually walked past my freshman year dorm on Fifth Ave (I used to love saying I lived on Fifth Ave) which was so much fun…and made me feel old at the same time 🙂

DSC_7729

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Emily

DSC_7689

Outfit Details:

Top (Madewell...love this one for fall) // Jeans (Motherthese are very similar) // Necklace (Madewell) // Shoes (Tod’s) // Bag (Chanel)

One thought on “Old stomping grounds

Leave a Reply

