Fitness · Running

Then and now

This coming weekend is an extremely special one as I’ll be running my very first half marathon. It’s been quite the journey, so today I’ve decided to take a break from fashion to talk about well…running.

My running journey began in grade school. I ran cross country and track in high school, but like many kids I didn’t take it too seriously. I was a decent runner, but obviously I was not going to be the next Olympian or anything. Fast forward to college, where I ran from time to time…just as a way to exercise.

I pretty much stopped running altogether once I started working, and picked it up again last August (2015) when my BF got me a Fitbit for my birthday. I’m not sure why it stuck this time around, but it did. From last August until now I’ve had running fever. Shortly after I started running again I decided I wanted to run a half marathon (not sure why) and set my sights on a runDisney race. I heard great things about the races and they’re flat, which is great for a first timer like me.

Since I decided I was going to run a half marathon I’ve been running and exercising like crazy. I pretty much do some sort of physical activity  (run, cardio or strength train) 5-6 days a week, so it’s been quite the lifestyle change.

I didn’t follow a training plan, but simply tried to increase my mileage week after week. I also spent my weekends running local races, which was a lot of fun. My workout plan was going fine until this summer, when I ended up injuring myself. I was sidelined for a few weeks, and it was seriously devastating. I felt like I had made so much progress and all of a sudden it was gone.

Slowly but surely I’ve decided to feel like my old self again and in late September I ran my first 10-miler. They say if you can run 10 miles you can run a half-marathon. I completed that race (though not my best time), so I know when push comes to shove I’ll be able to finish my half.

img_2253Proudly wearing my medal after finishing the 10-miler in September.

While I don’t always enjoy a run or workout, it’s the overall experience of running that’s truly changed my life. The sense of accomplishment I feel thinking back to where I started to now is amazing. It sounds cheesy, but I’m proud of myself and I know that this is only the beginning of my running journey (assuming I cross the finish line this weekend, I plan to sign up for a marathon in 2017).

I think that we’re all capable of a lot more than we may think, so I’m planning to give it my all at the race this weekend and hopefully I’ll be happy with the result! Regardless of when I cross the finish line, it’s an accomplishment I’ll be talking about for many years to come 🙂

Stay tuned for lots of pictures and a full race recap soon!

img_2196This picture was taken after my very first 10k this spring.

5-milerStriking a pose after a fun 5-mile pride run this summer. 

-Emily

 

22 thoughts on “Then and now

  1. Good luck! I am a runner as well and feel like I can totally relate to what you said! I definitely don’t love every workout, but I always feel great afterwards and it’s a wonderful stress reliever. You’re gonna kill it this weekend!!! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

