Fitness · Running

Disney Dreams

Brag moment: I’m officially a half marathoner! After months of planning and training, I checked running a half-marathon off my bucket list this past Sunday when I completed runDisney’s Wine & Dine Half Marathon. Icing on the cake: I met my goal time (sub-2) and finished the 13.1 mile run in 1:55.

img_2352

Here’s a peak at how the day went down…

The race started bright and early at 5:30am. We had to be at the race at 4am, so the alarm went off at 3:15am Sunday morning. Not sure I’ve EVER woken up so early 😉

After arriving at Disney around 4, I had plenty of time to mentally prepare for the race. Of course I was super nervous and full of pre-race jitters.

dsc_8407Waiting in line for the shuttle to the start of the race at ESPN Wide Word of Sports

dsc_8411The start of my pre-race stretching routine

I was in one of the first corrals, so I began the race shortly after 5:30am. The start was super cool and celebratory… they had fireworks at the start of each corral. It certainly helped set the mood!

dsc_8414Heading to my corral

dsc_8420The start line…

When I started the race I felt pretty good. I had my goal pace in mind, so I literally checked my watch every few seconds to make sure I stayed on track.

About three miles in we entered Animal Kingdom which was my favorite part of the race. The park was lit up beautifully, especially the Tree of Life. Seeing that definitely helped keep the positive vibes going through my head.

After Animal Kingdom we ran through the back roads of Disney then on the highway before approaching the final leg of the race at Epcot. I was feeling pretty good until about mile 11, when I definitely started getting tired. I told myself it was almost over, so I fueled up and focused on the finish line.

When I got to Epcot I knew the end was near. I was so tired but kept telling myself I had to keep going. A few minutes later I crossed the finish line and heard the announcer call my name. It was such a cool moment and one that I’ll probably remember forever.

dsc_8482Crossing the finish line…finally!

dsc_8490

dsc_8501

Now that it’s all over, I keep reliving moments of the race and saying to myself, how did I actually do this? For me this was such a big accomplishment and I’m so proud of myself. Hard work and dedication certainly does pay off!

I couldn’t have done any of this without my BF. He’s my number one fan in life, and when it comes to running he’s certainly my biggest cheerleader. He comes to all of my races, gets up super early in the morning on race days, and never (okay rarely) complains about it. The best part of a race is always seeing how excited his face is when he sees me on the course 😊

Soon the blog will be back to its regularly scheduled fashion programming, but for now I’m still enjoying talking about my half-marathon experience!

Thanks for stopping by!

Emily

3 thoughts on “Disney Dreams

Leave a Reply

