Basics · Fall Style · Favorite Labels · Outfits

The staples

While I love a good statement piece or eye-catching item of clothing, I must admit that the majority of the things in my closet would be considered staples…items that you can mix and match with a bunch of different pieces and stand the test of time…and trends.

dsc_8528This outfit is the perfect example of great staples. Each piece is pretty classic (at least in my opinion!) and can be worn in so many different ways. I’ve mentioned this before…I love blazers and I own quite a few, pretty much all from Theory. Today’s blazer is no exception. I love the tweed and the fact this it’s what they call “bracelet length.” Perfect for a gal like me who wears a ton of arm candy. The tweed goes with so many different colors, but today I decided to pair it with this taupe sleeveless turtleneck, a recent Theory purchase.

dsc_8543Anyone who reads this blog regularly knows that I absolutely love turtlenecks. Sleeveless turtlenecks are great because they achieve the same look and pair perfectly with blazers and cardigans. I immediately fell in love with the color and fit of this top. I know I’ll be wearing it for many years to come.

dsc_8535You can never have enough black pants for work. I recently picked up this pair from Rebecca Taylor and I’m very happy with them thus far. I like my work pants to be slim fitting the same way I like my jeans 🙂 When I purchased these pants they were a little long, so I had them shortened a bit. I like to have pants hit at this length so that they can be worn with heels or flats.

I rarely wear flats at work, but today I decided to keep it classic with my quilted Chanel flats. They go great with jeans, and of course pair perfectly with work wear.

dsc_8523

Hope you are having a great week!

-Emily

Outfit Details:

Top (Theory) // Pants (Rebecca Taylor) // Blazer (Theory, old…similar here) // Flats (Chanel)

 

9 thoughts on “The staples

Leave a Reply

